The European Cities of Tirana (AL), Ghent, Leuven and Mechelen (BE), Prague (CZ), Freiburg im Breisgau (DE), Copenhagen, Høje-Taastrup and Roskilde (DK), Helsinki, Lappeenranta, Oulu, Tampere and Turku (FI), Grenoble (FR), Budapest (HU), Florence and Prato (IT), Wiltz (LU), Bergen and Oslo (NO), Guimarães (PT), Ljubljana and Maribor (SI), Seville (ES) and Eskilstuna, Malmö and Umeå (SE) have joined forces to support and act on the transition to a circular economy.

Together they have signed the European Circular Cities Declaration, launched on 1 October 2020 at the 9th European Conference on Sustainable Cities & Towns – Mannheim2020 during the policy panel "Circular Economy in Cities".

The Declaration has been developed by a broad group of European organisations committed to enabling the transition to a circular economy at the local level, including ICLEI, Circular Flanders, CSCP, ECERA, the European Investment Bank (EIB), Ellen McArthur Foundation, Eurocities, LWARB, UN Environment Programme and the WCYCLE Institute.

It provides a common, shared vision of a circular city that helps ensure cities act as a joined force on the road to circularity. Recognising the need to accelerate the transition from a linear to a circular economy in Europe, the cities and regions signing the declaration are committed to act as ambassadors and champion a circular economy that leads to a resource-efficient, low-carbon and socially responsible society, in which resource consumption is decoupled from economic growth.