The annual RegioStars Awards are approaching again, and for the tenth time an independent jury will award outstanding regional policy projects. We are now calling for projects who could be submitted for the awards by our managing authority.

RegioStars Awards, organised by the European Commission, aim to identify good practices in regional development and highlight original and innovative projects that are attractive and inspiring to other regions. For projects, the awards offer a unique way to promote their results, share good practises and inspire others.

This year two of the award categories are particularly relevant to our programme:

  • Smart Specialisation for SME innovation
  • CityStars: Cities in Digital Transition

Other three categories are:

  • Energy Union: Climate action
  • Women Empowerment and Active Participation
  • Education and training

Who can participate?

We encourage projects, who work with the above mentioned topics and have not previously been submitted for the awards by the managing authority, to express their interest to participate.

To be eligible, the project needs to be finalised or sufficiently advanced in a way that it can demonstrate progress in the achievement of the original objectives. Based on this criteria, we welcome submission especially from the INTERREG IVC projects.

The next steps

  • If your project fits the criteria and you are interested in submitting the project for the awards, fill in this online form by 10 March.
  • The Interreg Europe / INTERREG IVC programme’s managing authority will make the final decision on which projects to submit for the RegioStars 2017 awards.
  • We will contact the selected project or projects by 16 March 2017 to finalise the full application form.

This year's RegioStars award ceremony will take place on Tuesday, 10 October, during the 2017 European Week of Regions and Cities.

We look forward to receiving your expressions of interest.

More information:

During the years, several INTERREG IVC projects have been submitted for the awards. In 2012, GraBs won an award in the category 'Sustainable growth'. In 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2015 INTERREG IVC projects have been among the finalists: FLIPPER and SEE (2011), PASE (2013), Mini-Europe (2014) and IMAGINE (2015). Other INTERREG IVC projects submitted for the awards are RAPIDE and CLIQ (2012), Know-Man, C2CN and MKW (2013), GreenITNet (2015) and ClusteriX (2016).