The New European Bauhaus aims to accelerate green and digital transition, recovery and enhance the quality of life in Europe. It seeks to make the Green Deal a cultural, human-centred and positive, tangible experience.

As a part of this initiative, the New European Bauhaus prizes will give recognition to new visions, ideas and solutions. The 2021 prizes give visibility to examples and concepts that illustrate how beautiful, sustainable, inclusive places already exist in our territories, our communities and in our practices, paving the way to the future.

Categories and prizes

Prizes are awarded in two strands:

  • Strand A 'New European Bauhaus Awards' calls for examples of existing complemented initiatives or projects
  • Strand B 'New European Bauhaus Rising Stars' is open for new concepts or ideas by young talents aged 30 or less

The winners will receive:

  • EUR  30 000 for the New European Bauhaus Awards
  • EUR 15 000 for the New European Bauhaus Rising Stars

All winners will also benefit from a communication package with paid media, short documentary, pitching training.

Both strands cover 10 categories:

  1. Techniques, materials and processes for construction and design
  2. Buildings renovated in a spirit of circularity
  3. Solutions for the co-evolution of built environment and nature
  4. Regenerated urban and rural spaces
  5. Products and life cycle
  6. Preserved and transformed cultural heritage
  7. Reinvented places to meet and share
  8. Mobilisation of culture, arts and communities
  9. Modular, adaptable and mobile living solutions
  10. Interdisciplinary education models

See the New European Bauhaus prizes website for more details.

How to apply

Individuals or organisations representing the project or initiative should submit the application. Joint applications are also allowed. Both EU and non-EU residents are eligible to apply, as long as the project or idea is implemented in the EU.

Only already completed initiatives or projects are eligible under strand A. Concepts, prototypes, tools, methods or ideas that have not been implemented yet are not eligible.

Strand B is open to concepts or ideas at different stages from early development to prototype level. A development plan and steps towards implementation should be included in the application.

Applications should be submitted online via the New European Bauhaus prizes platform. See the guide for applicants before submitting your application.

The application deadline is 31 May 2021.

More information