RegioStars Awards identify good practices in regional development and highlight original and innovative projects that are attractive and inspiring to other regions.

This year, 24 finalists were selected from 103 entries on the basis of four key criteria: innovation, impact, sustainability and partnership. Many of the finalists are addressing common challenges through cooperation across borders.

The projects compete in five categories: 

  • Smart Specialisation for SME innovation
  • Energy Union: Climate Change
  • Women empowerment and active participation
  • Education and Training
  • CityStar: Cities in digital transition.

The finalists come from regions and cities in 20 Member States and one neighbouring country: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday 10th October in Brussels, during the RegioStars Award Ceremony in the #EURegionsWeek. The ceremony will also be webstreamed, so you can tune in to follow the event live wherever you are.