The Ministry of Ecological Transition has approved a Ministerial Order to set the regulatory bases for granting aid to the municipalities affected by the closure of coal plants. The department of Teresa Ribera has approved a budget of 7 million euros for this year 2019, and this is likely to be expandable.

As it is explained by the Ministerial Order, municipalities may request these grants for programs to create employment-generating companies, support for the conversion of existing activities or for the transition of specific labour groups.

The maximum period for the resolution of the procedure and communication will be six months, which will almost coincide with the closure of these plants that have until June 2020 to leave their activity.

The Ministry has also presented a list of coal thermoelectric plants with closure processes that are owned by the large power plants: Endesa, Iberdrola, Naturgy and Viesgo, including the plants in Aboño, Lada, Soto de Ribera, Narcea, Anllares, Compostilla II, La Robla, Velilla, Los Barrios, Puente Nuevo, Litoral, Meirama, As Pontes, Andorra and Es Murterar.

Source: El Economista